Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows Phone

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Year in Review: 2011 in Numbers

yearinreview, instagram news,

We’ve seen the Instagram community grow from 1 million to over 15 million users in 2011. To celebrate, we’re recapping the year’s activity in our Year in Review series.

Accounts

  • 1 million: The number of accounts on Jan 1, 2011.
  • 15 million (and counting): The number of accounts on Jan 1, 2012.

Photos

  • 3: The average number of photos uploaded per second, one year ago.
  • 60: The average number of photos uploaded per second, today.
  • 400 million: The total number of photos shared on Instagram so far.
  • 51,600+: The most likes on a single photo.

Photos by irenesco, tvwithcheese, hammo85, hacchi312 & arielvargasruiz.

Year in Review: Who Joined in 2011?

yearinreview, user feature, instagram news,

We’ve seen the Instagram community grow from 1 million to over 15 million users in 2011. To celebrate, we’re recapping the year’s activity in our Year in Review series.

January

NPR (@npr)

Celtics (@celtics)

charity:water (@charitywater)

February

Ben & Jerry’s (@benandjerrys)

March

The Washington Post (@washingtonpost)

April

The National (@ntnl)

Young the Giant (@youngthegiant)

Jamie Oliver (@jamieoliver)

May

NASA Goddard (@nasagoddard)

General Electric (@generalelectric)

June

MC Hammer (@mchammer)

Linkin Park (@linkinpark)

July

SFMOMA (@sfmoma)

Ryan Seacrest (@ryanseacrest)

Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

August

Jamie Beck (@_frommetoyou)

Banana Republic (@bananarepublic)

September

Tiffany & Co. (@tiffanyandco)

Bon Iver (@boniver)

October

Puma (@puma)

Taylor Swift (@taylorswift)

November

Zooey Deschanel (@zooeydeschanel)

December

Floyd Mayweather (@floydmayweather)

Nike (@nike)

Be sure to check out our Notable Users Directory, which lists many more fashion, food, music, news, sports & venue/event accounts that have been utilizing Instagram since we first launched through today!

Year in Review: 2011 in Photos

yearinreview, photo feature, instagram news,

We’ve seen the Instagram community grow from 1 million to over 15 million users in 2011. To celebrate, we’re recapping the year’s activity in our Year in Review series.

January

New Year’s Eve

February

Super Bowl XLV

March

Japan Earthquake & Tsunami

April

The Royal Wedding

May

Worldwide InstaMeet

Osama bin Laden killed during American military operation

June

NBA Finals

July

Atlantis’s Final Voyage

August

London Riots

Hurricane Irene

Burning Man

September

Remembering 9/11

Occupy Wall Street

October

Steve Jobs passes

Floods in Thailand 

2011 World Series

Worldwide InstaMeet

Halloween

November

New York City Marathon

Thanksgiving

December

U.S. formally declares end of the Iraq War

SantaCon

Photos by heyjenny, tvcameraguy, akikofujita, adamsheath, mishobaranovic, angelsm84, dkarp65, nasagoddard, jimmy32, allaneschoening, ridetherockett, nbcnews, sof_ckingcliche, ogirginc, sweathog, casey7911, lpow88, canvaspop, jcohen77, tomjoubert, whitemenace & mckochman.

Year in Review: Top 15 Places to Take An Instagram Photo

yearinreview, photo feature, instagram news,

We’ve seen the Instagram community grow from 1 million to over 15 million users in 2011. To celebrate, we’re recapping the year’s activity in our Year in Review series. To kick things off, here are the 15 most popular places where Instagram photos were taken in 2011!

1. Disneyland

by lishieswishes

2. Suvarnabhumi International Airport (BKK)

by tanyh

3. AT&T Park

by matthewschneider

4. San Francisco International Airport (SFO)

by landonbassett

5. Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)

by hseal

6. Hong Kong International Airport (HKG)

by miznow

7. MoMA - Museum of Modern Art

by armandosalmito

8. Golden Gate Bridge

by kpotts4

9. Metropolitan Museum of Art

by laurenlaurenti

10. Parque do Ibirapuera

by raulmangolin

11. Siam Paragon

by iiphat

12. Mission Dolores Park

by khouryp

13. Terminal 21

by oadoad23

14. LACMA - Los Angeles County Museum of Art

by margotenenbaum

15. Times Square

by 5boroughnyc