Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Photoset

world water day, current events,

World Water Day 2014 on Instagram

For more photos and videos from World Water Day around the world, browse the #waterday and #worldwaterday hashtags.

Around the world, 1.2 billion people—nearly a fifth of the planet—lack access to clean water. To call attention to the plight, the United Nations designated March 22 as World Water Day. Here are just a few of the many people and organizations on Instagram working to raise awareness about water issues around the globe:

  • water.org (@water) - Working with hundreds of communities in Africa, South Asia and Central America to provide access to safe water and sanitation. Collaborating with Benjamin Heath (@benjaminheath), Steph Goralnick (@sgoralnick) and Simone Bramante (@brahmino) to share scenes from Kenya on Instagram.
  • Balazs Gardi (@balazsgardi) - Photojournalist who has spent the past decade documenting the effects of the unfolding global water crisis.
  • charity: water (@charitywater) - A non-profit organization on a mission to bring clean and safe drinking water to every person on the planet. Currently working with Vik Muniz (@vikmuniz) and Students Rebuild (@studentsrebuild) to bring clean water to over 16,000 people in Tanzania.
  • Corey Arnold (@arni_coraldo) - Photographer and fisherman documenting glaciers for Project Pressure (@projectpressure) to create the world’s first interactive glacier archive in order to better understand climate change.
  • Hurley H2O (@hurley_h2o) - Hurley’s water initiative striving alongside Waves for Water (@wavesforwater) to provide clean water for everyone.
  • WaterAid (@wateraid) - Bringing water, sanitation and hygiene education to where it is needed most for over 30 years.
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (@montereybayaquarium) - California aquarium with a mission to inspire conservation of the oceans.

Photoset

world water day, current events,

Raising Awareness on World Water Day

Want to learn more about World Water Day? Find the United Nations event nearest to you here. Explore and share your own World Water Day photos through the #worldwaterday hashtag.

Around the world, more than 780 million people live without ready access to clean, safe drinking water. For the 85% of the world’s population that lives in the driest half of the planet, existing resources are becoming increasingly scarce.

To raise awareness about issues affecting water and how we access it, the United Nations has designated March 22 as World Water Day.

Among the organizations participating in this year’s World Water Day is charity: water (@charitywater), which drills water wells in small towns around the world. To raise awareness, charity: water is hosting a “water walk” in Times Square to demonstrate how difficult it is to carry water across long distances.

They’re also engaging and promoting others who are raising awareness for water access, like @rideforwater, a team of five college students who are embarking on a cross-country bicycle tour to raise money for a new well.

WaterAid (@wateraid) is also participating, and, for the past 20 days, has been sharing through Instagram the numerous ways access to clean water improves people’s lives.

Here are just a few of the many other organizations on Instagram working to bring clean water to those around the world: