Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows Phone

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Photoset

nba, hair art, spursnation, miami heat, nba playoffs, photography,

Heading into the NBA Finals with Hair Art by @robtheoriginal

To see more creative hair art, follow @robtheoriginal on Instagram. For more photos and videos from the @NBA Finals, follow the San Antonio Spurs (@officialspurs) and the Miami Heat (@miamiheat) on Instagram.

Rob Ferrel (@robtheoriginal) was working at a barbershop in Texas eight years ago when local kids starting bringing in requests for hair art. “At first it was simple patterns and designs, but now if they bring me any image, I can replicate it in their hair,” Rob says.

Today, Rob is a professional hair artist and founder of Rob the Original Barbershop in San Antonio. As the local San Antonio Spurs (@officialspurs) enter a rematch with the Miami Heat (@miamiheat) in the NBA Finals tonight, requests for his popular basketball-themed styles continue from Spurs and Heat fans alike.

Rob’s toolkit includes standard barber clippers and razors, but also colored eyeliner for the finishing touches. “I create every shape and shade on the portrait—like a puzzle,” Rob says. “You can only do so much with hair, so the eyeliner perfects the picture and makes it look realistic.”

Photoset

nba, basketball, current event, User Feature,

The NBA Tip-Off 2013 on Instagram

Tonight, the National Basketball Association’s (@nba) 68th season tips off with three games. In the first match up, the Indiana Pacers (@thepacers) face the Orlando Magic (@magicnba). Then, the defending champions Miami Heat (@miamiheat) take on the Chicago Bulls (@chicagobulls). The final game pits the Los Angeles Clippers (@laclippers) against their in-town rivals, the Los Angeles Lakers (@lakers).

To tune in to photos and videos from players in tonight’s games, be sure to follow them on Instagram:

  • LeBron James, Miami Heat Forward — @kingjames
  • Chris Paul, LA Clippers Point Guard — @cp3
  • Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers Shooting Guard — @kobebryant
  • Luol Deng, Chicago Bulls Small Forward — @luoldeng9
  • Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat Guard — @dwyanewade
  • Paul George, Indiana Pacers Small Forward — @paul_george24