Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows Phone

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Photoset

tour de france, tdf2014, current events, Instagram, cycling, tdf,

Following the 2014 Tour de France on Instagram

To view more photos and videos from the Tour de France, follow @letourdefrance on Instagram and browse the #letour, #tourdefrance2014 and #tdf hashtags.

The Tour de France (@letourdefrance) officially kicked off this weekend in Yorkshire, England. Covering a distance of 3,664 kilometres (2,276 miles), the 101st tour starts in Leeds and Sheffield. After snaking through mainland France, as well as parts of Belgium and Spain, the final stages take place in the Périgueux region, leading up to the finish line at the Champs-Élysées in Paris on July 27.

Want to get a first-hand look at the the Tour de France? Be sure to follow these Instagrammers:

  • Le Tour de France, official account of Le Tour de France — @letourdefrance
  • Chris Froome, cyclist from Great Britain — @chrisfroome
  • Mark Cavendish, cyclist from Great Britain — @markcavendish
  • Team Sky, British competing team — @teamsky
  • Peter Sagan, cyclist from Slovakia — @petosagan

Photoset

the making of, bicycle, cycling,

An Inside Look at Building Bicycles

The Making Of… Know any other Instagrammers doing something unique with their hands? Send us a note through Tumblr.

The Instagram community is rich with artists and craftspeople documenting their trades. By sharing everything from restoring furniture to building guitars to printing stationary, these Instagrammers leave their followers with a better understanding and deeper appreciation for their craft.

Cycling enthusiasts are a particularly lucky group, as many bicycle builders from across the United States and around the world have taken to Instagram to show off their fabrication skills.

Interested in learning more about how bikes are built? Check out these Instagram accounts:

  • StanRidge Cycles, frame and cycle builder in Columbus, Ohio — @stanridgecycles
  • Stinner Frameworks, bicycle builder from Santa Barbara, California — @stinnerframeworks
  • Majaco Bikes, frame builder from Austin, Texas — @majacobikes
  • Horse Cycles, bicycle builder from Brooklyn, New York — @horsecycles
  • Geekhouse Bikes, mountain bike fabricators in Boston, Massachusetts — @geekhousebikes
  • Bishop Bikes, frame builder in Baltimore, Maryland — @bishopbikes
  • The Bicycle Academy, a master class on bicycle frame-building in Bristol, UK — @thebicycleacademy