Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows Phone

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Photoset

bicycle, oregontopatagonia, User Feature,

Bicycling from #OregontoPatagonia with @jedidiahjenkins and @phillipcrosby

In the 1970s, Jedidiah Jenkins’s parents walked across America in search of themselves and the spirit of the country they called home. Now, Jedidiah (@jedidiahjenkins) and his friend Phillip Crosby (@phillipcrosby) are doing the same. Rather than just traversing the country, though, they’re headed all the way down to the bottom of the world and they’re sharing their journey on Instagram.

Jedidiah and Phillip started their trip in Florence, Oregon, where Jedidiah’s parents ended their cross-country walk several decades ago. From Oregon, they plan to bicycle to the southern tip of South America. They have already biked through Oregon and California and just crossed the border into Mexico.

Join in on the journey by following @jedidiahjenkins and @phillipcrosby on Instagram. To see more photos and videos from the trip so far, browse the #oregontopatagonia hashtag and check out their website oregontopatagonia.com.

Photoset

the making of, bicycle, cycling,

An Inside Look at Building Bicycles

The Making Of… Know any other Instagrammers doing something unique with their hands? Send us a note through Tumblr.

The Instagram community is rich with artists and craftspeople documenting their trades. By sharing everything from restoring furniture to building guitars to printing stationary, these Instagrammers leave their followers with a better understanding and deeper appreciation for their craft.

Cycling enthusiasts are a particularly lucky group, as many bicycle builders from across the United States and around the world have taken to Instagram to show off their fabrication skills.

Interested in learning more about how bikes are built? Check out these Instagram accounts:

  • StanRidge Cycles, frame and cycle builder in Columbus, Ohio — @stanridgecycles
  • Stinner Frameworks, bicycle builder from Santa Barbara, California — @stinnerframeworks
  • Majaco Bikes, frame builder from Austin, Texas — @majacobikes
  • Horse Cycles, bicycle builder from Brooklyn, New York — @horsecycles
  • Geekhouse Bikes, mountain bike fabricators in Boston, Massachusetts — @geekhousebikes
  • Bishop Bikes, frame builder in Baltimore, Maryland — @bishopbikes
  • The Bicycle Academy, a master class on bicycle frame-building in Bristol, UK — @thebicycleacademy

Bicycle Evolution

photo feature, bicycle, bikes,

Want to see more? Browse the tags #bicycle, #bikepolo, and #mountainbike.

On this day in 1819, the bicycle was patented in the United States. While the exact design the patent covered is no longer known — it was destroyed in a fire in 1836 — almost 200 years later we see people riding all different types of bicycles (and unicycles!), built for everything from mountain biking to bike polo! Here are some of our favorite cycling photos from the Instagram community.