Instagram

Get the free app for iOS, Android, or Windows Phone

Welcome to the Instagram blog! See how Instagrammers are capturing and sharing the world's moments through photo and video features, user spotlights, tips and news from Instagram HQ.

Photoset

weekend hashtag project, whpwomenwhoinspire, international women's day,

Weekend Hashtag Project: #WHPwomenwhoinspire

Weekend Hashtag Project is a series featuring designated themes & hashtags chosen by Instagram’s Community Team. For a chance to be featured on the Instagram blog, follow @instagram and look for a post announcing the weekend’s project every Friday.

This weekend’s tag was #WHPwomenwhoinspire, which asked participants to take portraits of the women who inspire them and share their stories for International Women’s Day. Every Monday we feature some of our favorite submissions from the project, but be sure to check out the rest here.

Photoset

iwd2014, international women's day, current events,

International Women’s Day 2014

For more photos and videos from incredible women sharing their stories on Instagram, be sure to follow Michelle Obama (@michelleobama), Stella McCartney (@stellamccartney) Condoleezza Rice (@condoleezzarice), Jenny Jones (@jennyjonessnow) and Laura Mvula (@lauramvula).

On Saturday, men and women around the world celebrate International Women’s Day. An official holiday for many countries, the day has been observed since the 1900s as a chance to celebrate women’s economic, political and social achievements. As a tribute to women everywhere, here are some of the exceptional women using Instagram to document their incredible stories of talent, triumph and humanitarianism:

Photoset

weekend hashtag project, whpwomenwhoinspire, international women's day,

Weekend Hashtag Project: #WHPwomenwhoinspire

Weekend Hashtag Project is a series featuring designated themes & hashtags chosen by Instagram’s Community Team. For a chance to be featured on the Instagram blog, follow @instagram and look for a post announcing the weekend’s project every Friday.

In honor of International Women’s Day on March 8, the goal this weekend is to take portraits of the women who inspire you and share their stories in your caption. Some tips to get you started:

  • Let the story drive your portrait. Spend time talking with your subject beforehand, explain the project and try to capture what inspires you in her body language and expressions.
  • When taking a portrait, take some time to think about light. Seek out soft windowlight for a calm portrait or, for a more dramatic shot, position your subject in a sharp sunbeam.
  • Finally, if you’re inspired by a woman you’ve never met, try using this project to reach out to her and share how she inspires you. She’ll appreciate hearing from you, and you might just get the chance to take a portrait of someone you really admire.

PROJECT RULES: Please only add the #WHPwomenwhoinspire hashtag to photos taken over this weekend and only submit your own photographs to the project. Any image taken then tagged over the weekend is eligible to be featured right here Monday morning!

Photoset

International Women's Day, current event,

International Women’s Day 2013

Today, men and women around the world will celebrate International Women’s Day. Since the early 1900s people have used the annual holiday as an opportunity to celebrate women’s economic, political and social achievements. In honor of this, we’re recognizing several exceptional women that utilize Instagram to document their incredible stories of talent, triumph and humanitarianism:

  • Bethany Hamilton (@bethanyhamilton) — Known for surviving a shark attack that left her without one arm, she overcame the injury to become a professional surfer.
  • Yoko Ono (@yokoonoofficial)— A Japanese artist, peace activist and feminist, also known for her philanthropic contributions to the arts, peace and AIDS outreach programs.
  • Gabrielle “Gabby” Douglas (@gabbydoug2012) — Making history in the 2012 Summer Olympics, she won gold medals in both the individual and team all-around competitions, becoming the first black woman of any nationality to do so.
  • Padma Lakshmi (@padmalakshmi) — The first internationally successful Indian supermodel, she is now the host of Bravo’s “Top Chef,” an award-winning author of two cookbooks, and the co-founder of a nonprofit organization focused on increasing awareness, education and research about endometriosis.

For more incredible women sharing their stories on Instagram, be sure to follow Oprah Winfrey (@oprah), Sheryl Sandberg (@sherylsandberg), Sofia Vergara (@sofiavergara), Diane von Furstenberg (@dvf) Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling), Ellen DeGeneres (@theellenshow) and Shakira (@itsshakira)!